Indian Visa For United Kingdom Citizens

Indian visa for UK Passport Holders

UK passport holders can apply for an e-visa to visit India. An e-visa is an electronic visa that allows visitors to enter India for a limited number of days. UK citizens can apply for an e-visa online, which is a quick and easy process that avoids the need to visit the Indian embassy.

Eligibility criteria of a UK citizen

  • You must be a British citizen.
  • You must possess a valid British passport
  • Must have a valid Email ID
  • Must be a holder of a valid Debit/credit card to pay.
  • Must have proof of onward travel from India

Types of Indian Visa For UK Citizens

  • Tourist Visa
  • Business Visa
  • Medical Visa

The application process to be followed by a UK citizen

  • Visit the official website of the IndianVisaServices
  • Create an account and log in
  • Complete the online visa application form carefully and accurately.
  • Pay the visa fee online using a credit or debit card.
  • Upload a recent passport-size photograph and a clear copy of your passport's bio-page
  • submit the application form.

Processing time for Indian visas for citizens of UK

UK citizens seeking an Indian e-visa should allow between 3 to 7 business days for processing, as the time frame may vary depending on specific circumstances.

Validity of an Indian visa for citizens of UK

Indian e-visas are typically single-entry visas, permitting the holder to remain within India's borders for 60 to 180 days, depending on the specific visa type obtained.

What should a citizen of UK know before travelling to India?

  • UK citizens need to obtain an e-visa before traveling to India.
  • validity and duration of stay applicable to your visa type.
  • Ensure your passport is in good condition and has at least two blank pages for visa stamping.
  • Purchasing travel insurance is highly recommended for all travelers visiting India.
  • It is recommended to exchange your currency for Indian rupees before or upon arrival in India.
  • Be respectful of local customs and dress modestly, especially when visiting religious sites.
  • Keep the contact information for the British Embassy or Consulate in India handy in case of emergencies.


How can I apply for an Indian e-visa?

UK citizens can apply for an Indian e-visa online through the official website of the IndianVisaServices.

How long does it take to process an Indian e-visa application?

The processing time for an Indian e-visa is typically between 3 to 7 business days, but it may vary depending on certain circumstances.

How long can I stay in India on an e-visa?

The duration of stay on an Indian e-visa for UK citizens depends on the type of visa obtained. Tourist visas typically allow a stay of 60 to 180 days, while business visas may allow a stay of up to 1 year.

What should I do if my Indian e-visa application is rejected?

If your Indian e-visa application is rejected, you will receive an email notification with the reason for rejection. You can then reapply for an e-visa, addressing the reasons for rejection in your application.

How can I extend my Indian e-visa?

If you need to extend your stay in India beyond the validity of your e-visa, you can apply for an extension at the nearest FRRO (Foreigners Regional Registration Office).

What are the restrictions of an Indian e-visa?

E-visas are only valid for certain ports of entry in India. You can find a list of eligible ports of entry on the IndianVisaServices website.

What should I do if I have any further questions about Indian e-visas for UK citizens?

For further information or assistance, you can contact the Indian e-visa helpdesk or the nearest Indian embassy or consulate in the UK.

Entry Airports

  • Ahmedabad
  • Amritsar
  • Bhubaneshwa
  • Calicut
  • Cochin
  • Coimbatore
  • Goa (Dabolim)
  • Goa (Mopa)
  • Jaipur
  • Kannur
  • Madurai
  • Mangalore
  • Portblair
  • Pune
  • Varanasi
  • Vishakhapatnam
  • Bagdogra
  • Bengaluru
  • Chandigarh
  • Chennai
  • Delhi
  • Gaya
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Tiruchirapalli

Entry Seaports

  • Chennai
  • Mumbai
  • Cochin
  • Goa
  • Mangalore